Te Reo Maori

I learnt about Utaina (waiata).

First I listened to the music. Half of the Maori lryics is. Nga waka o te motu – the canoes of the island Toia mai ra ki uta – Thrust the canoes shorewards Ki te takoranga – to the place where they will lie A hiki ‘nuku, hiki e – Swing your paddles down, swing them Hiki rangi, runga e – Swing your paddles skywards, swing them Tena, tena ra – Greetings, greetings koutou katoa – to you all (Haka).

Next I made a DLO about the meaning of Utaina. The other half of the Maori verse is. U ta-i! – Man the canoes ‘Ta-hi! – Yes! U ta-i! – Seize the paddles! ‘Ta-hi! – Yes! Utaina mai nga iwi – Put aboard all the tribes 0 te motu – of the island Ki runga Tauranga e tau – onto Tauranga here A hiki ‘nuku e! – Thrust your paddles down deep A hiki rangi e! – Flip them now to the heavens A hiki ‘nuku e! – Now thrust them down deep A hiki rangi e! – Lift them skywards Ka hapainga tana waka – Their canoe is raised on high Ka hikitia i ta nga iwi – It is urged on by everyone Aue! Aue! Aue! Ha! – Aue, aue, aue, ha! Tena, tena ra – Greetings, greetings koutou katoa – to you all.

I enjoyed this because I learnt the meaning of Utaina. I did well on understanding the message. I need to improve on explaining the message.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *